PDA

View Full Version : do you trust your mechanic?

GrandmasterCow
01-09-2007, 10:54 PM
prob repost, hah, but here : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wiCAJ8ULnaI

Knipps
01-09-2007, 11:00 PM
that's why i had questions about them suggesting my trans flush

V
01-09-2007, 11:08 PM
when i was a mechanic, we'd get tons of cars in with people sayign they just had work done or they were told they needed something. we'd be up front with them all the time. By running the shop like that we became very busy and would work on an average of 30 cars a day between the owner and myself. We were always packed with satisfied customers who'd recommend us to even more people. About 2 years after i left, everythign went downhill though, the owner started seeing how mcuh profit could be made by overcharging and all, now the shop works on like 4-5 cars a day. I think its funny, i still use the shop for towing and buying parts from dealers but i would never trust any of my vehicles there anymore, its a sad thign to be honest.

maroman88
01-10-2007, 01:40 AM
haha i love when they do stories like that

SupermanX24
01-10-2007, 05:29 AM
Of course there was a camaro in the video :lol:

Fast92RS
01-10-2007, 09:00 AM
Thats pretty old. When I worked at a dealer we had cars come in all the time because of Jiffy lube doing something stupid like forgeting to put oil back in the car.

Untamed
01-10-2007, 11:10 AM
Oil change: $24.95.

Spot painting: $100.00

Aerowing replacement: $400 + labor

Being able to work on your own car: Priceless

For everything else, there's a sucker with a Mastercard waiting to use it.

best of both
01-10-2007, 05:45 PM
I deal with issues like that on a regular basis. Pick up the news paper some time and look at all the jobs available for qualifies tech's. That should give you a good idea of the type of people they hire. If I make one of the get togethers I will say more. Because of my job I will stop at that.

slasherbarb
01-11-2007, 09:06 AM