PDA

View Full Version : ? on a enigine swap

camaros_4life34
01-23-2007, 01:51 PM
i have a 1990 formula with a 305 tpi engine i want to swap it with an ls1 5.7 what all is need to do this do i need to change the computer or just upgrade it will i have to change my fuel supply the wiring harnest anything i need to change to make this engine swap work i need to know im new with fuel injected motors im used to carberated but i hear you get more power with fuel injected motors and ive been told that the ls1 is the way to go

Knipps
01-23-2007, 02:17 PM
wow, that is one beast sentence...
but :welcome:

camaros_4life34
01-23-2007, 02:18 PM
lol thanx

V
01-23-2007, 03:55 PM
to put an LS1 in a 3rd gen, youd need the following(and possibly more if i forgot anything):

engine cradle(k member for ls1 in 82-92)
transmission mount(for ls1 in 82-92)
stand alone wiring harness(just easier than converting stock to work)
conversion headers for ls1 in 82-92
driveshaft may be needed, even though length stayed the same, LS1 engine is located further back when in a 3rd gen.
upgraded fuel pump is recommended but not needed(tpi pump should work ok for a semi-stock ls1)

those are the main things

foff667
01-23-2007, 04:18 PM
other then that whole engine/tranny thing of course :lol:

from what I've seen the swap actually doesnt look all that difficult.

NJSPEEDER
01-23-2007, 08:36 PM
to put any LSx engine + trans into a thirdgen you will need swap motor mounts, the complete LSx computer and wiring harness, and either an exhaust fabricated off of the stock manifolds or swap headers.
the transmission will actually mount in the same spot and you can retain your stock driveshaft/suspension parts.
you will also want to upgrade yoru fuel pump. jsut grab a walbro 255lph replacement pump and drop it in place of the stocker.
the only other fuel system modification needed is to adapt the fuel lines, which is no big deal.