PDA

View Full Version : Changing transmission fluid

Kojak
04-22-2007, 01:01 PM
I have to change my tranny fluid on my 2000 Cavalier. I've done everything else but this so I'm kind of new to it. Anyway I have a few questions if anyone can answer for me.

What kind of fluid?
How do I know when its full since it doesn't have a dip stick?
and
Is their anythign special I have to do other than drain it and repalce it like purge it or somethign?

Thanks...

NightRydaSS
04-23-2007, 02:59 PM
How many miles are on the car and when was the last time the fluid was changed? If it has a 'ish load of miles on it and you don't know when the least time it was changed, i would leave it alone. Changing the fluid on a high mileage car that has never had the fluid changed before can cause problems

bobb1589
04-23-2007, 10:09 PM
yeah... true... but no dipstick... thats odd

BigAls87Z28
04-23-2007, 11:49 PM
Hrm...i hate not having a dip stick.
Dont do it with over 100k miles on it.

Mike
04-24-2007, 07:39 AM
if the cars a manual, its not odd that it dosent have a dipstick.......

the manual will tell you what kinda fluid to run, and if its a manual you fill it through the fill plug on the side and stop when it starts to come back out that hole

johnjzjz
04-24-2007, 07:57 AM
i don't get it - been doing this 40 plus years and never seen a car / truck golf car what ever - that had NO issues with the trans - changing the fluid is a bad thing -- IF its not working correctly and changing the fluid ( coincidently ) the unit fails - that happens all the time -- why would anyone tell some one not to do it when it would help and give it more life -- i am at a loss i must have missed something Please fill me in ??????????????? --

#1 why does changing the fluid in a trans ( auto / stick ) with high mileage and NO issues a bad thing ------------- jz

BigAls87Z28
04-24-2007, 09:19 AM