PDA

View Full Version : Emissions

7pointoh
01-25-2008, 08:28 AM
Hi all. I'm still fairly new to New Jersey and had a couple of emissions questions. I will be registering my TA soon. No SES light because of a good tune, but in Cali, I failed because I basically took off all the emissions related stuff which the tech saw that on the visual inspection. I passed the sniffer though. So to pass, I had to put back all the emissions related stuff (EGR, AIR, stock exhuast manifold, cats) and retune to pass. Onced pass, I put the performance stuff back on.

Just wondering what do I have to do here? What are the things that the inspectors look for? As much as I like working on my car, I don 't want to have to take things of and put things back on just to pass emissions.

BonzoHansen
01-25-2008, 09:34 AM
2001 with no SES light should be fine as long as there are cats in it.

Anti_Rice_Guy
01-25-2008, 09:46 AM
Best bet is to find a private inspection station, that's the easiest way. Or you could just glue the stuff on so it looks like its there :lol:

JerzLT1
01-25-2008, 10:13 AM
private station and theyll do a plug in and no real visual

V
01-25-2008, 10:43 AM
i have an '01, no cats, no emissions stuff either, big cam too.
but then again, i dont have to abide by any emissions standards or safetyeither for that matter.

but yeah, a private shop will work best. theres no "sniffer" test for OBDII cars, they just hook up the computer and make sure the car says itself is good

NightRydaSS
01-25-2008, 11:09 AM
i have an '01, no cats, no emissions stuff either, big cam too.
but then again, i dont have to abide by any emissions standards or safetyeither for that matter.

but yeah, a private shop will work best. theres no "sniffer" test for OBDII cars, they just hook up the computer and make sure the car says itself is good

By "private shop" do you mean a Minekee/Gas station type place or " Joe Blow's auto repair shop" that happens to do state emissions????