PDA

View Full Version : new member from staten island...

straight6
06-10-2008, 12:35 PM
well, hi....i figure s.i. is close enough for me to join a jersey board =) My name's Omar, im a graphic designer, and i have a plain jane 69 camaro (my first car, had her now for 13ish years), with dreams of making her into a competent autocrosser/track day racer. and well, of making myself a competent racer...right now i'm just finishing up rewiring her, and freshening up the 4wheel drums and getting plates and inspection are my next steps b4 i can get back on the road with her and hit some cruise spots/meets/etc. heres a pic taken a couple years ago after a paint job -

http://www.geocities.com/ohms_69/cherry.jpg

and since its a fun story to post, here's how i got her -

i was 15, had a few hundred bucks, looking for my first car (i'm looking at old domestic cars while my parents wanted to lease a neon for me), then my grandma passes away and left me a few more hundred with the words "dont worry about them, get what you want!", so i had an even 1000, i'd comb the classifieds every week and circle a couple, and my parents would drive me out to whereever to check the cars out. Pretty much all 4door novas and darts. one week i only circled 2 cars, and my mom was casually looking thru the paper and saw one i ignored:

1969 CAMARO, automatic. $1000. (718)123-1234, Queens. NY

She said "hey! what about this camaro" and i said nah, an ad like that always means its a heap, but it wasnt far from where we lived, so we all figured what the heck, lets see it.

i call the # and this 80-something yr old guy with loads of personality is the owner. hes all excited that i'm a kid and its my first car. he says come over tomorrow morning at 7 am, because he already got a bunch of calls from other guys that were gonna come tomorrow with cash.