PDA

View Full Version : Do we have any service writers here?

Frosty
12-09-2008, 01:57 PM
I went for an interview today at a Hon-duh dealership in Burlington for an internet position. They saw that I have automotive experience(auto appraiser) and they were interested in hiring me as a service writer. I've never done that before, never even thought about it.

Any suggestions? Any tips? What "should" I expect to make a year(yes I know, it's mainly commission based so it depends on the amount of traffic in the Service Dept).

Thanks. :)

NastyEllEssWon
12-09-2008, 04:25 PM
grow very thick skin....very fast. your going to need it. the service writers job is basically to be the messenger between the mechanic and the customer. your going to have to explain services...as well as recommend them. your also going to have to break bad news or unexpected news and expect to be called an earful of names as well as dodge a few slaps from women. it happens.

glorified punching bag :mrgreen: but you can make lots of money if your good at upselling

qwikz28
12-09-2008, 05:16 PM
i did not know service writers worked on commission. what a bunch of thieves! (not you tony :))

NJ Torque
12-09-2008, 06:00 PM
I don't work on commission for a paycheck... but we do get perks for stuff.

Never had a woman slap me in over 3 years... don't know what your doing wrong.

SRGN
12-09-2008, 08:32 PM
Never had a woman slap me in over 3 years... don't know what your doing wrong.

If you haven't had a woman slap you in 3 years, it's probably you doing something wrong:mrgreen:Either that or they look at your girlish figure and feel bad for you:laugh:

BigAls87Z28
12-09-2008, 08:45 PM
You will get yelled at for a lot of things, just comes with the job.
Gunna need good sales personality, and reach goals, etc etc.
As for pay, when I went to go work for Pine Belt Nissian, they said if I dont make 75k a year, I should probably quit.

Frosty
12-09-2008, 08:47 PM