PDA

View Full Version : Maro/TA Conversion Project

enRo
03-17-2005, 07:31 PM
Don't ask what encouraged me, I just thought it'll be hella nice to throw a camaro front end on a TA. Heres the situation though. First thing tomorrow im going to take a picture of this, but the passenger side front frame corner is all bondo. This wasnt from my accident, but the previous owner's. It goes about 8-10 inches from the corner towards the passenger door. With this, my front end allignment is shimmy'ed way too much, to the point where alligning it correctly is 99% impossible. One fender sticks out too much while the other sticks out even further, the hood doesnt allign correctly, front bumper is a little tilted, and where the hood/turn-signals latch onto is slanted downward. Question: Im not an expert at framework, but would it be possible/easy/hard to replace the entire front frame itself? Couldnt the front frame be cut by the windshield and swapped? Iono, putting in my 2 cents. Next, I plan on replacing the doors and the sideskirts, both of which are shot. Plus I think it will look better with 'maro skirts to match the front end nicely. Next, I'll have to plug in the wiring harness for headlights/sidemarkers/fogs/horn from a camaro to match up with the new light assembly. Then comes the front bumper/hood and other body parts to place on, which should be pretty simple because I've done it on my TA twice.

This picture, if you notice the entire radiator support (its blue rather than black) and how its installed, its connected by bolts and not spotwelds. Its the best pic i can find (doesnt include the crap bondo job though)
http://www.geocities.com/njknightrider/Fall2004TA16.JPG