Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Electrical and Wiring

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-07-2016, 10:16 AM   #1
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
Msd 2 step off clutch safety start switch

I originally have the 2 step in my 01ss off the clutch switch wire under the hood coming off the pcm.

I then figured out that the signal is coming from the cruise control disengagement switch so the 2 step is not disengaging until I am completely off the pedal

Ran the wire Inthe car to grab signal off of the 2 wire switch on the clutch pedal that tells the car the clutch is depressed and car can start

However both signals I am pulling will not work to engage / disengage the 2 step
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (44.8 KB, 3 views)
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 10:21 AM   #2
Blackbirdws6
Lord of the rings / 10 Second Club / Meet Coordinator
 
Blackbirdws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Posts: 5,931
iTrader: (3)
I had the same issue and ended up installing a trigger switch near the pedal.
__________________

97 T/A Ram Air Convt
Forever dyno queen / 777rwhp 662 rwtq @ 17lbs / 10.2 @ 140

17 C7Z - 10.83 @ 128
17 Sierra 2500HD Dmax
81 Turbo TA
06 Merc BLS55
Blackbirdws6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 10:37 AM   #3
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 18,974
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbirdws6 View Post
I had the same issue and ended up having a pal install a trigger switch near the pedal.
__________________
sweetbmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 10:54 AM   #4
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
I don't know if I wanna leave off a switch with the stick too much going on
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 11:06 AM   #5
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 18,974
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdg37s View Post
I don't know if I wanna leave off a switch with the stick too much going on
Its a momentary micro switch at the bottom of the pedal travel mounted to the firewall. Step all the way down on pedal, switch is depressed. Start to let off, switch is up and off you go.
__________________
sweetbmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 12:21 PM   #6
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
Its a momentary micro switch at the bottom of the pedal travel mounted to the firewall. Step all the way down on pedal, switch is depressed. Start to let off, switch is up and off you go.


You have a picture of how u mounted ? I assume u did 12v and ground and then tapped it ran wire up
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 01:04 PM   #7
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 18,974
iTrader: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdg37s View Post
You have a picture of how u mounted ? I assume u did 12v and ground and then tapped it ran wire up
Blackbird might, it was on his car. Thinking back, shudder, I believe I mounted the switch to the clutch pedal itself. Does the msd look for power or ground? Or either? I feel like I grounded one side to the switch mounting and ran the other lead to the box. It either needs just power going through it or just ground, you don't need both. That's only if the switch has a light.

__________________
sweetbmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 01:27 PM   #8
Blackbirdws6
Lord of the rings / 10 Second Club / Meet Coordinator
 
Blackbirdws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Posts: 5,931
iTrader: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
Blackbird might, it was on his car. Thinking back, shudder, I believe I mounted the switch to the clutch pedal itself. Does the msd look for power or ground? Or either? I feel like I grounded one side to the switch mounting and ran the other lead to the box. It either needs just power going through it or just ground, you don't need both. That's only if the switch has a light.

A pic may exist but I'd have to look in the archives. The MSD box provided either a 12V and ground trigger. We used the ground trigger wire if I recall.
__________________

97 T/A Ram Air Convt
Forever dyno queen / 777rwhp 662 rwtq @ 17lbs / 10.2 @ 140

17 C7Z - 10.83 @ 128
17 Sierra 2500HD Dmax
81 Turbo TA
06 Merc BLS55

Last edited by Blackbirdws6; 09-07-2016 at 01:59 PM.
Blackbirdws6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 01:30 PM   #9
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 18,974
iTrader: (12)
http://www.newark.com/multicomp/m141..._e4aAj518P8HAQ

That style switch too. Drilled into the side of the petal and a couple through bolts with nylon nuts so it all stays put
__________________
sweetbmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 03:48 PM   #10
deadtrend1
11 second club/ Moderator
 
deadtrend1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Berlin, NJ
Posts: 7,137
iTrader: (11)
I think we used two relays in mine with the factory saftey switch. I never added a trigger switch. I just had a third variable that I had to kill the nitrous/fuel solenoids when on the two step.
__________________
2001 Trans Am WS6 •SLP Loudmouth II •UMI Suspension •12.857 @ 109.57

1996 Trans Am WS6 •Pacesetter Longtubes •Strange 12 Bolt •Spohn Suspension •11.152 @ 123.85
deadtrend1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2016, 08:15 PM   #11
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbmxrider View Post
http://www.newark.com/multicomp/m141..._e4aAj518P8HAQ

That style switch too. Drilled into the side of the petal and a couple through bolts with nylon nuts so it all stays put
Just ordered that switch. IF anyone can grab a pic of it for me the way it is installed I Would really appreciate it !

Thanks!
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 04:22 PM   #12
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
big big thanks to brian on here for the info i installed the switch and it works perfectly !
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 05:39 PM   #13
Blackbirdws6
Lord of the rings / 10 Second Club / Meet Coordinator
 
Blackbirdws6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Posts: 5,931
iTrader: (3)
Glad you got it in there!
__________________

97 T/A Ram Air Convt
Forever dyno queen / 777rwhp 662 rwtq @ 17lbs / 10.2 @ 140

17 C7Z - 10.83 @ 128
17 Sierra 2500HD Dmax
81 Turbo TA
06 Merc BLS55
Blackbirdws6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 06:08 PM   #14
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackbirdws6 View Post
Glad you got it in there!
yeah lol i had to drill it in on an angle and stuff it was def tough i went with a nut n bolt setup versus the self tappers
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 07:20 PM   #15
Jersey Mike
Power Member/NJFBOA Bookie/Moderator
 
Jersey Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: North Jersey = Best Jersey.
Posts: 4,419
iTrader: (12)
Social Networks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdg37s View Post
it works perfectly !
This implies there was some "testing" done. Have fun?
__________________

1995 Firebird... Stock-ish.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS1ow View Post
Good. He microwaved my phone 6 years ago, i hope his intake erupts.
Jersey Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 07:25 PM   #16
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 682
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jersey Mike View Post
This implies there was some "testing" done. Have fun?
lol quite possibly
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Electrical and Wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Sponsor List
















All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.