Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > General Tech

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2018, 05:55 PM   #1
Arikalimanis
 
Arikalimanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
305 tbi mechanical pressure gauge install

Hey guys so i made the mistake of buying long tube headers that werent part specific , so in the process of trying to install them i broke the oil pressure sending unit on my 91 305 tbi , now question is can i take that out and install a mechanical one in its place , and if not how do i install a mechanical one otherwise
Arikalimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:11 PM   #2
Featherburner
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Arm pit of the world... NJ
Posts: 2,617
iTrader: (1)
You could plug the original position and install a new sender in the port on the rear china wall location.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Oil pressure sending.jpg (38.2 KB, 9 views)
__________________
John
Featherburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 06:17 PM   #3
Arikalimanis
 
Arikalimanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
Sounds good and this location is available for me on my 91 305 tbi ??
Arikalimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 07:20 PM   #4
BonzoHansen
Admin.
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 19,729
iTrader: (27)
are you running efi and/or a factory in tank fuel pump?

all small blocks are a port back there by the distributor. you can run a T and run the factory unit and a gauge sender.

Although I don't really get the need for a mechanical gauge
__________________
Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.

Hey everybody, it's good to have you on the Baba-too-da-ba-too-ba-ba-buh-doo-ga-ga-bop-a-dop

Last edited by BonzoHansen; 01-23-2018 at 07:21 PM.
BonzoHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 08:52 PM   #5
Arikalimanis
 
Arikalimanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
Well my stock one is on the fritz and its always good to have a mechanical one in my opinion not easy to malfunction and easily replaceable thats why eventually all my gauges will be mechanical
Arikalimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:08 PM   #6
Arikalimanis
 
Arikalimanis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Hamilton nj
Posts: 13
iTrader: (0)
And everything about the car is stock so im guessing an in tank fuel pump ive read that the oil pressure switch also has some kind of fail safe if the fuel pump relay dies but there is oil pressure it still gets power , this is a second question would putting a t in the oil pressure sending unit together with a mechanical make sence or would it be easier and better to run both on a seperate location ?
Arikalimanis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 09:32 PM   #7
BonzoHansen
Admin.
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 19,729
iTrader: (27)
Then you need to replace the stock one.

You are fine running two senders from the same port
__________________
Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.

Hey everybody, it's good to have you on the Baba-too-da-ba-too-ba-ba-buh-doo-ga-ga-bop-a-dop
BonzoHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > General Tech

Tags
oil pressure

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Sponsor List
















All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.