Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Transmission and Driveline

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2016, 11:07 AM   #1
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
driveshaft safety loop?

So I really should be running one of these but it looks like they are a bitch to fit underneath with the torque arm, 3 inch y pipe etc;

has anyone ever ran the lakewood one ?

http://www.jegs.com/i/Lakewood/620/18022/10002/-1

Not looking for anything crazy something affordable and doesn't require me to re organize the underneath of my car lol
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 12:32 PM   #2
MDSheds_SS
11 sec club
 
MDSheds_SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 823
iTrader: (1)
Social Networks:

Not sure what torque arm you have but most of the short TA come with loop or you can buy the cross member with the loop.
Also type in Spohn on Central Jersey CL there's a guy selling that Lakewood one you are talking about.
__________________
99 Z28 Trick Flow 215s milled to 61cc 228/232 Cam Fast 102 built 4l65e trans 4000 converter 12 bolt 410s Electric WP deleted PS/AC Dyno & Track tuned
2015 ATS Coupe. AWD 2.0 Turbo
2012 2500hd Silverado with LTZ 20s on 35x12.5x20
86 Buick GN Lesabre 1 of 117 (4-Sale)
MDSheds_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 01:08 PM   #3
LTb1ow
Mongo the Meet Coordinator
 
LTb1ow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16,450
iTrader: (8)
What torque arm do you run now?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkEvil View Post
repo bigals turd gen and part it out to a loving home
LTb1ow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 06:25 PM   #4
3.4 grape of wrath
 
3.4 grape of wrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Howell,NJ
Posts: 461
iTrader: (2)
I had both the lakewood loop and the jegs one with the round loop both were a royal pain to install and there is not much clearance for the driveshaft. I also had to remove the driveshaft to install them. The granatelli loop is easy to install and gives you plenty of clearance. It's a little pricey but it's well worth it.
http://www.jegs.com/i/Granatelli/467/500002/10002/-1
__________________
94 CAMARO
TURBO 3.5 LITER
12.573 @ 107.29 1/4 MILE
8.021 @ 86.38 1/8 MILE
BEST 60' 1.781
3.4 grape of wrath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 07:55 PM   #5
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
stock torque arm for now

was looking at this one too per my friend's recommendation... I assume this is a PITA to install as well...

http://bmrsuspension.com/?page=produ...249&superpro=0

is this ligit ??

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-2002-Ca...25.m3641.l6368

Last edited by 6spdg37s; 02-29-2016 at 08:05 PM.
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 08:55 PM   #6
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 19,060
iTrader: (12)
Aren't you getting a new rear? Best thing you can do is get the torque arm off of the trans. Time to pony up
__________________
sweetbmxrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 05:28 AM   #7
3.4 grape of wrath
 
3.4 grape of wrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Howell,NJ
Posts: 461
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdg37s View Post
stock torque arm for now

was looking at this one too per my friend's recommendation... I assume this is a PITA to install as well...

http://bmrsuspension.com/?page=produ...249&superpro=0

is this ligit ??

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1993-2002-Ca...25.m3641.l6368
Stay away from the bmr loop. I had the same one but it was jegs labeled. The ebay one is the one I have on my car now. I don't know if that is ligit but that's a great price.
__________________
94 CAMARO
TURBO 3.5 LITER
12.573 @ 107.29 1/4 MILE
8.021 @ 86.38 1/8 MILE
BEST 60' 1.781

Last edited by 3.4 grape of wrath; 03-01-2016 at 05:29 AM.
3.4 grape of wrath is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 07:06 AM   #8
MDSheds_SS
11 sec club
 
MDSheds_SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 823
iTrader: (1)
Social Networks:

+ 1 on get that TA off the trans. Go with a short arm with the loop. If you buy one used make sure it doesn't have stress cracks.
__________________
99 Z28 Trick Flow 215s milled to 61cc 228/232 Cam Fast 102 built 4l65e trans 4000 converter 12 bolt 410s Electric WP deleted PS/AC Dyno & Track tuned
2015 ATS Coupe. AWD 2.0 Turbo
2012 2500hd Silverado with LTZ 20s on 35x12.5x20
86 Buick GN Lesabre 1 of 117 (4-Sale)
MDSheds_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 06:46 PM   #9
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
I got the granatelli loop. Even if I do change the torque arm I am concerned about running the one to the frame because one kid I know's ripped out
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2016, 07:54 PM   #10
LTb1ow
Mongo the Meet Coordinator
 
LTb1ow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16,450
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6spdg37s View Post
I got the granatelli loop. Even if I do change the torque arm I am concerned about running the one to the frame because one kid I know's ripped out
Not saying it didn't happen, but many more people have damaged tail shaft housings.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkEvil View Post
repo bigals turd gen and part it out to a loving home
LTb1ow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 02:34 PM   #11
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
I'm getting the granatelli one delivered tomorrow. Do I have to take the seats out to install this (like what holes/bolts does it utilize) the one I did on a 04 mustang gt the seats had to come out cause it mounted to the seat holes..
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 04:52 PM   #12
MDSheds_SS
11 sec club
 
MDSheds_SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 823
iTrader: (1)
Social Networks:

The seats don't have to come out. Just take out the bolts from the cross member and you will see there are threaded inserts in the body. Looks like it bolts right into there. 13mm if I remember right.
__________________
99 Z28 Trick Flow 215s milled to 61cc 228/232 Cam Fast 102 built 4l65e trans 4000 converter 12 bolt 410s Electric WP deleted PS/AC Dyno & Track tuned
2015 ATS Coupe. AWD 2.0 Turbo
2012 2500hd Silverado with LTZ 20s on 35x12.5x20
86 Buick GN Lesabre 1 of 117 (4-Sale)
MDSheds_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 08:30 PM   #13
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDSheds_SS View Post
The seats don't have to come out. Just take out the bolts from the cross member and you will see there are threaded inserts in the body. Looks like it bolts right into there. 13mm if I remember right.
great thanks for the info... I Like to know the makeup of something before I get into it lol makes planning out when to do it that much easier
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 07:10 PM   #14
ThoR294
^^^Lover of bad cars^^^ Meet Coordinator
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Whitehouse Station
Posts: 1,979
iTrader: (1)
I have a BMR safety loop somewhere (bought it after rear u joint asploaded and killed my airbags). I never installed it lol. whats wrong with the BMR loop?
__________________
1996 Trans Am WS6 M6 - 13.679 at 102.77MPH in 1/4. (11/07)
LPP LT Headers & ORY, PCM4LESS Tune, GMMG Catback, TPIS Air Foil, SPEC Clutch, STB, BMR SFCs, Boxed Stock LCAs, 4.11s, Koni 4/4s, Strano Springs & Sway Bars, UMI Adj T/A and Reloc Xmember, Adj PHB, MGW Shifter, LS1 Front Brakes, BLS HIDs, Full Sound System!
1986 Honda VFR750 - 89.3HP to the wheel
ThoR294 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 07:53 PM   #15
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThoR294 View Post
I have a BMR safety loop somewhere (bought it after rear u joint asploaded and killed my airbags). I never installed it lol. whats wrong with the BMR loop?
I think the only issue with it is that you need to pull the driveshaft down to install it...
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 08:24 PM   #16
MDSheds_SS
11 sec club
 
MDSheds_SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Woodbridge
Posts: 823
iTrader: (1)
Social Networks:

You can just take the driveshaft off the rear, then slide it up. It doesn't need to come out of the trans.
__________________
99 Z28 Trick Flow 215s milled to 61cc 228/232 Cam Fast 102 built 4l65e trans 4000 converter 12 bolt 410s Electric WP deleted PS/AC Dyno & Track tuned
2015 ATS Coupe. AWD 2.0 Turbo
2012 2500hd Silverado with LTZ 20s on 35x12.5x20
86 Buick GN Lesabre 1 of 117 (4-Sale)
MDSheds_SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 08:40 PM   #17
6spdg37s
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 691
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MDSheds_SS View Post
You can just take the driveshaft off the rear, then slide it up. It doesn't need to come out of the trans.
yeah i know im saying tho i think thats why he said it idk why else it would be bad . I got the granatelli anyway
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Transmission and Driveline

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Sponsor List
















All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.