Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > General Tech

Notices

Old 08-25-2016, 09:04 PM   #1
6spdg37s

lets play a game... why is my car running hot...

Pretty much here is the rundown...anyone that can help feel free to chime in... let me start by saying im a mechanic lol this has me stumped

-cam goes in
-we notice it seems like 1 fan is down (driver side)
-then it seems like its working again
-car is tuned for 160 thermostat
-temp goes up to around 212 without A/C on , around 228 with A/C on
-diagnose as a bad fan, replace the fan assembly
-fan kicks on
-car is still running hot, and driver side fan is not on
-replace all 3 relays... discover that there is a non factory jumper wire from the bottom of fan relay 1 to the middle of the wire harness running in front of the car
-when I did the cam also did an ASP underdrive pulley setup
-58k miles on the car

I'm not sure if this is an electrical problem, or if the fans are behaving correctly and its a water pump problem, or if the water pump simply cant handle the smaller pulleys so its not operating at efficiency

what are the fan sequences, my understanding is driver side is LOW fan, Passenger side is HI fan, but when the car is getting hot BOTH fans should be on ?

thanks-
6spdg37s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2016, 09:12 PM   #2
WildBillyT
Ayatollah of Rock N Rolla / Admin

You don't have a signature... what car/engine is this?
WildBillyT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2016, 06:26 AM   #3
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator

Quote:
Cooling Fan Control