Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Camaros, Firebirds and the People that own them > Welcome / Introduction

Notices

Closed Thread

Old 03-24-2015, 04:51 PM   #1
evildante

Cool New Member from Central NJ (Union County)

Hi Everyone,

I'm really New to the Camaro community. I have always loved the Camaro since I was little. My father owned a 1987 Camaro RS with T-Top. I loved that car. I wish he would have kept it for me. He passed away in 2009.

Just recently I bought a 1986 Camaro Berlinetta to turn into a project car.
the car runs but needs work.

I really need help working on this Camaro. If anyone can help me out I would appreciate It. because I have no clue what I am doing and I am willing to learn.

I'm not sure If I should restore it to a 1986 Chevrolet Camaro Berlinetta with the 305 v8 or change it to a 350, LSX ...
Old 03-25-2015, 05:31 AM   #2
NJSPEEDER
NJFBOA Co-Founder

Welcome to the club.

Sounds like a great project. Choosing an engine is a big step, really have to go through the whole nickel and dime list of things you need to build a similar V8 that will slide right in vs going to the newer style engine or the middle ground of using the earlier style engine and adding a fuel injection system.

To get started you need three things, a budget(A target spending amount and an absolute cap), a performance goal(quick street, occasional track day, autocross, country roads, or straight line performance), and an honest view of how you are going to end up using the car the bulk of the time(if you plan to drive it every where you want a livable cam and air conditioning). Obviously the costs involved in a solid cruiser that can run 12's are far different than a 9 second trailered race car.

Start scribbling down ideas for yourself and our community will be glad to help.

Once again, welcome to the club.

New Jersey F-Body Owners Association
Old 03-25-2015, 10:21 AM   #3
evildante