Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Engine / Power / Tuning

Notices

Old 07-12-2005, 08:42 PM   #1
enRo
13 Second Club

Running Rich on Start-ups / Code 34

The 88 Formy I got has an L98, and its running rich on start-up. There is an open vaccum line just laying next to the windshield washer reservoir, but there is no air going in or out of it. I am completely new with TPI. What I've done so far is replaced the MAF Burn-off Relay, MAF Power Relay, and the MAF sensor is fairly new. Could it be bad injectors, head, or a vaccuum leak? I also understand that the VSS was replaced as well, dunno if that has something to do with it. I plan on putting new spark plugs and wires on it soon, but I doubt thats the problem.

How can I check the timing? Ive never had a timing problem in any of my cars so Im clueless on how to...
Also, Is there a vaccuum diagram anywhere on the WWW that someone knows of? I really appreciate it!
Old 07-13-2005, 06:07 AM   #2
Batman
11 Second Club

88 should have the 9th injector for cold start, maybe it is going bad. Is it only when the car is cold ordoes it happen warm also?

For the timing you will need a timing light. Hook up to the battery and #1 spark plug wire and on the driver side above the crank pulley should be a metal tab with numbers on it. You may have to get the wire brush and some PB to clean it to see the numbers. The numdbers are the degrees of timing with 0 obviously being 0. Positive timing is to the left (If I remember correctly) and negative is to the right. Point the light at it and look for the line on the crank pulley and see where it lines up to relation of the metal indicator and that is your timing. To adjust it you loosen the distributor hold down and turn the distributor left or right. Check it, then adjust again if necessary. Not sure optimum for a TPI (sure someone here can help you with that) but +3 degrees is a pretty good start.