Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Restorations, Fabrication, Tool and Shop Tech

Notices

Old 09-29-2015, 06:47 PM   #1
qwikz28
13 Second Club / Moderator

Social Networks:

Inexpensive Welder for small jobs

I'm looking for an inexpensive welder that I can use for small jobs on my car. For example, custom seat brackets, some chassis bracing and possibly some exhaust work (wife's car and my dad's car have leaks). I have some experience in welding from metal shop class in high school, but I don't want a mig welder or anything that will require gas. Something low duty. Again, it's unlikely I'll use it more than once a year.

That being said, I'm looking at something like this: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B001RIZ7SE/...I2XHSSPQYICFYS

I want to avoid something used so I'm looking at new welders only.

Thanks,

-Jake
qwikz28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 07:06 AM   #2
grazi

You don't need gas for a mig welder. You can just buy flux core wire.
grazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 09:16 AM   #3
IROCZman15
10 Second Club / Meet Coordinator

yea, the seat brackets I made that I was showing you on Sunday, I actually Used a Lincoln 140T (I think that was the model) welder and used flux core because we didn't have the gas cylinder setup yet (the welder was about a week old at this point).

http://www.lincolnelectric.com/en-us...incolnElectric)

and since you mentioned the seat brackets that we were talking about.. here is a link to the ones I built that we were looking at.

the photos and write-up start 1/4 of the way down this page on my website

http://www.freewebs.com/iroczman15/workdonein2011.htm

Last edited by IROCZman15; 10-04-2015 at 07:46 AM.
IROCZman15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2015, 08:55 AM   #4
redsoxsstink

Social Networks: