Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Engine / Power / Tuning

Notices

Old 03-02-2011, 08:35 PM   #1
85CamaroZ28

Need help with exhaust

Hello everyone, I am new to this site and also new to third gen Camaros. I have a 85 Camaro Z28 with a 400sbc and a th350 trans. I am currentlt stuck on what exhaust setup I should do. It currently has a 2 1/2 piping on it with no muffler because the old muffler sounded horrible. I have many people telling me do this and do that. Here are the things people are telling me. Again I am new to the Fbody, Ive have gbodys before and you can run true dual easy on them. Some people are telling me to keep the one pipe and ypipe just bump the piping up to 3inch due to the 400sbc and get a muffler with a dual outlet. I think its called transverse setup?. Then i have other telling me dont do a transverse setup with dual tips just have a reg flowmaster muffler with one tailpipe because it doesnt mess up the flow like the transverse set up. I really dont know what to do. I love Flowmaster and they sell both setups. I saw on Hawks Third gen they have a setup with a 3 1/2 with single exit. Please someone help me. Its one of the last things i gotta do to get the car on the road. To answer some questions you might have for me. I dont mind the loud noise. I will be using the car for street/strip. I prefer dual pipes but if singe with get me better power then ok. Thanks in advance for your help. I will post pics soon
85CamaroZ28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 08:54 PM   #2
Tru2Chevy
Co-Founder / Site Admin

Social Networks:

What is the basic info on the 400?

- Justin

Tru2Chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 08:56 PM   #3
LTb1ow
Mongo the Meet Coordinator

Shoot this guy a PM, he has some stuff.
http://www.njfboa.org/forums/showthread.php?t=51721
LTb1ow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
//<86TA>\\
Power Member