Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Engine / Power / Tuning

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2005, 09:07 AM   #1
GP99GT
Mr Fantastic
 
GP99GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Milford NJ
Posts: 7,917
iTrader: (2)
A/C no worky

Like the title says...the AC Compressor doesnt kick in when i turn on the air conditioning. Also, the auxilary fan doesnt come on either, which leads me to believe its not the compressor thats bad. I checked the pressure in the system and its right around 30psi, which i believe is right around normal. anyone got any idea where to start looking? im thinking its a relay or switch or something thats bad.
__________________
Matt

B18B1 FTW
GP99GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 09:24 AM   #2
Tru2Chevy
Co-Founder / Site Admin
 
Tru2Chevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ewing, NJ
Posts: 22,473
iTrader: (8)
Social Networks:

Bah - just take it out.

- Justin
__________________
1999 Camry - Beigemobile DD
2002 Suburban - Wife's DD
2004 Grand Cherokee - Not running / Project / Selling?

Tru2Chevy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 09:26 AM   #3
GP99GT
Mr Fantastic
 
GP99GT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West Milford NJ
Posts: 7,917
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru2Chevy
Bah - just take it out.

- Justin
i would, Dorman makes these A/C delete things so you can use the stock size belt and everything, bolts right where the compressor goes...but A/C is a selling point for a car
__________________
Matt

B18B1 FTW
GP99GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2005, 10:31 AM   #4
84HOtransam
13 Second Club
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clifton,NJ/ Providence,RI
Posts: 520
iTrader: (0)
theres a plug that goes on the accumulater (silver canister) pull it off and jump out the switch (connect both wires with a paper clip.) also check the plug on the compressor it might have fallen off..

the pressure in an R12 system should be around 80psi..im not sure about the 134a...ill have to check with my dad first...
84HOtransam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 01:39 PM   #5
maroman88
12 Second Club
 
maroman88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oradell
Posts: 8,368
iTrader: (11)
if theres not enough refrigerant in the system it wont turn on to avoid damage to the compresor, my friend just recharged his 134a and the compresor turned on and now it works great
__________________
86 Camaro
88 Camaro
95 Impala SS
97 Trans Am WS6
98 Blazer ZR2
00 Corvette
04 CTS-V
07 Sublime Charger Daytona
10 Tahoe SSV
12 Tahoe LT
17 Malibu LT
maroman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2005, 11:38 PM   #6
skorpion317
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pequannock, NJ
Posts: 1,854
iTrader: (0)
pressures are different from system to system. R134a operates at a much higher pressure than R12.

matt, i have some gauges for refrigerant lines...i can check it out for you. if the pressure is too low, than you don't have enough refrigerant in the system, and that could mean a leak.
__________________
1998 Saturn SL2
-=NORTH JERSEY NOT ONLY OWNS YOU, WE OWN YOUR MOM TOO.=-
Veritas et Aequitas
skorpion317 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Engine / Power / Tuning

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Sponsor List














All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.