Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Calendar
Go Back   NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Electrical and Wiring

Notices


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2017, 05:12 PM   #1
ar0ck
Resident Camera Guy
 
ar0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 10,953
iTrader: (2)
OBDI Digital Displays

I've seen people connecting old Android tablets to OBDII cars, but does something like that exist for an OBDI? Exploring inexpensive options to replace a gauge cluster with a tablet for a true digital display. Probably a stretch, I'm not a wiring genius either.
__________________
ar0ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 07:06 PM   #2
LS1ow
Power Member / trans break does not equal transbrake
 
LS1ow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Meadowlands
Posts: 4,222
iTrader: (15)
Social Networks:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ar0ck View Post
I've seen people connecting old Android tablets to OBDII cars, but does something like that exist for an OBDI? Exploring inexpensive options to replace a gauge cluster with a tablet for a true digital display. Probably a stretch, I'm not a wiring genius either.
Honestly, you may want to contact plotkin on this one alex.
__________________
-2018 Ram 1500
-1999 Chevy Camaro Z28
LS1ow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 08:32 AM   #3
creeper
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 815
iTrader: (3)
Check out ALDLdroid. I'm not sure what the refresh rate is for most of the Bluetooth adapters but a lot of the homebrew stuff I've seen is a little slow for a cluster replacement

I've been messing with OBDII over Bluetooth with a Raspberry Pi, using a Pi or Arduino makes it easier to add additional aftermarket sensors down the road:



OBDII is a lot more standardized and well documented but I'm sure it would be possible to do the same for OBDI
__________________

|2000 Trans Am|T56 swap|Bolt Ons| Suspension|

Last edited by creeper; 02-03-2017 at 08:39 AM.
creeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 09:22 AM   #4
BonzoHansen
Admin.
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 19,916
iTrader: (27)
Odb1 wont know fuel level, will it? Or oil psi?

My old otc scanner would return vss, cts, rpm. So those are there.

So will your odb1 feed all the gauges?
__________________
Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.

Hey everybody, it's good to have you on the Baba-too-da-ba-too-ba-ba-buh-doo-ga-ga-bop-a-dop
BonzoHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 09:33 AM   #5
ar0ck
Resident Camera Guy
 
ar0ck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 10,953
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BonzoHansen View Post
Odb1 wont know fuel level, will it? Or oil psi?

My old otc scanner would return vss, cts, rpm. So those are there.

So will your odb1 feed all the gauges?
Good questions, this was more of an off the hip question; but theoretically: If I can just do a digital display for speedometer and tachometer off a small tablet I'd be interested, anything else is just an added perk since I'm assuming OBDI is pretty simplistic in what can be converted.

I'm sure with the right size display mounted on an ABS plastic backing where the old gauges would be, I could still run electric auto-meter gauges for some of those stand alone things like Fuel & Oil. I have plenty of real-estate to spare where the radio was or even in the vents, but I also don't want it looking like I'm in the cockpit of an airplane, the whole point is minimalism.
__________________

Last edited by ar0ck; 02-03-2017 at 09:39 AM.
ar0ck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 10:09 AM   #6
sweetbmxrider
Meet Coordinator
 
sweetbmxrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brick/pt. pleasant beach
Posts: 18,995
iTrader: (12)
Convert to ls pcm, obd2, and change some sensors
__________________
sweetbmxrider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 10:29 AM   #7
LTb1ow
Mongo the Meet Coordinator
 
LTb1ow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16,376
iTrader: (8)
You will end up doing what you would do just run autometers in the panel area.

OBD1 is very limited.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkEvil View Post
repo bigals turd gen and part it out to a loving home
LTb1ow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 11:02 AM   #8
BonzoHansen
Admin.
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 19,916
iTrader: (27)
And most of the wiring for gauges is probably already there.
__________________
Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.

Hey everybody, it's good to have you on the Baba-too-da-ba-too-ba-ba-buh-doo-ga-ga-bop-a-dop
BonzoHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 11:55 AM   #9
LTb1ow
Mongo the Meet Coordinator
 
LTb1ow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 16,376
iTrader: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BonzoHansen View Post
And most of the wiring for gauges is probably already there.
if you are gonna do it, do it right

I would not trust stock senders any more than I trust stock gauges. Rip it all out, wire in new power to aftermarket gauges and use their harness/sending units.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KirkEvil View Post
repo bigals turd gen and part it out to a loving home
LTb1ow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2017, 01:48 PM   #10
BonzoHansen
Admin.
 
BonzoHansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 19,916
iTrader: (27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTb1ow View Post
if you are gonna do it, do it right

I would not trust stock senders any more than I trust stock gauges. Rip it all out, wire in new power to aftermarket gauges and use their harness/sending units.
I didnt say use stock sender, just the wiring. Oil psi, temp wiring is there, change the sender and connector. Factory fuel senders are better than most aftermarket, so that is done, and there is probably a vss lead for the curent speedo. Volt meter is easy peasy. There must be a tach signal at the factory gague somehow.
__________________
Vent Windows Forever! ... My junk ... NJ Camaros and Firebirds

The looser the waistband, the deeper the quicksand. Or so I have read.

Feather-light suspension, Konis just couldn't hold. I'm so glad I took a look inside your showroom doors.

Hey everybody, it's good to have you on the Baba-too-da-ba-too-ba-ba-buh-doo-ga-ga-bop-a-dop
BonzoHansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

  NJFBOA - Home of New Jersey's Camaros and Firebirds > Tech Forums > Electrical and Wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

» Sponsor List
















All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 3
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.